Catalog Kickoff Event

I have to start today by apologizing for not posting this last night as I said I would. We had a great time at the May workshop yesterday afternoon! I planned this as a new Annual Catalog kickoff event – everyone received new catalogs (releasing June 1, 2012) and we made three projects. Some pictures from the day are above and some comments are below.

Banner:Ā Using the My Digital Studio “Best of Everything” files, I created a repeat background of strawberries, flowers, and birds. I printed and cut them into the triangles and used solid colors (Real Red, Lucky Limeade, So Saffron) to alternate. Hayden, my son, helped me run the solid colors through the Big Shot with the Polka Dot Embossing Folder. (He loves to help punch and use the Big Shot!) The letters were cut from Basic Black card stock using the Big Shot and Alphabet Dies (set shown is retiring and being replaced by new set). Ribbon finished off the project!

You can download a free trial (for 30 days) of My Digital Studio by clicking here and then choosing the MDS Free Trial square on the right side of the screen.

Favors:Ā I typically give favors to those who attend workshops. Yesterday’s favors were retiring product – ribbon, brads, and clips.

Paper Strawberries:Ā To make the paper strawberries the easy way, you can use three punches from Stampin’ Up!: Fancy Flower, 5-Petal Flower (retiring), and the Handheld Punch. I used a template to make them because I didn’t have all of the punches or time to order them! I’ll be posting a template and tutorial later in the week.

S’mores: What would we do without Pinterest?! I found this recipe through a friend’s board, and had to try them. It fit perfectly with my summer theme, so my husband and I gave them a whirl. No one has ever accused me of being a good baker, but these were super easy and a huge hit! Click here to view the recipe: S’mores Cookies

SUPPLIES USED

Paper: Whisper White, Real Red, Lucky Limeade, So Saffron

Ink: Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, So Saffron

Stamp Set: Best of Everything

My Digital Studio: Best of Everything Download

Accessories: Big Shot Die Cutting Machine, Polka Dot Embossing Folder, Alphabet Dies (retiring), 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon (retiring), 1/2″ Scallop Dots Ribbon (Basic Black), Hemp Twine

4 thoughts on “Catalog Kickoff Event

Comments

