Cute as a Button

I made a tutorial for you on how to create a custom button in only a few steps – super easy! This is a project that is pictured in the Annual Catalog on page 49. I don’t own that stamp set (yet!), so I wanted to use Designer Series Paper to show you how you can make it your own!

 

TUTORIAL

(1)  I used buttons from the Clearance Rack – Sweet Stitches Big Designer Buttons. Since my buttons were 3/4″, I used the 1″ Circle Punch. You can use any size button you want – just make sure your punch is large enough to allow paper to cover the top and side of the button. (which brings me to step 2…)

(2)  Use glue (or Mod-Podge, like me) and a sponge brush to apply the paper to the top of the button. Press the paper and let sit to dry. I used Mod-Podge and made several – my first button was dry by the time I finished gluing the others.

(3)  Cut small slits from the edge of the paper circle to the button. Using a very small pair of scissors will work best. Be careful not to cut past the button, or you will see the slit from the front of the finished product. Trust me – I’m speaking from experience! 😉

(4)  Use your sponge brush to apply glue / Mod-Podge to the edges of the paper circle and sides of the button. Then wrap up the paper to the sides and hold it until it clings enough to let it go. Warning – all fingers will need to be used in this project and they will get a little messy! This picture is what your buttons will look like.

You can leave them like this – remember the Summer Smooches (Limited-Time Only) Brads? OR, you can continue to make them look like a button.

(5)  Using a Paper Piercing Tool, turn your button over to the back and piece holes where the original buttons holes are located. You can use Baker’s Twine or Linen Thread to finish it off, or leave it as is.

Note: The small slits around the edge of the paper are critical so your paper will lay correctly. I tried larger slits, but it didn’t work out as easily.

 

SUPPLIES USED

Paper: (pictured) Floral District, Summer Smooches, Patterns Designer Series Paper Stack

Punches: 1″ Circle

Accessories: Mod-Podge & Brush (purchase at any craft store), Buttons, Paper or Stamped Images, Paper Piercing Tool

One thought on “Cute as a Button

  1. Pingback: MOJO Monday 248 « studio 29 creative

Comments

