Sweet Thanks for a Sweet Mom

Ok, I’m going a little deep and personal today, but there is a card buried in this so stay with me!

Probably about a month ago, I stumbled upon a blog of a mom with two teenagers – Tracey Eyster. I quickly found myself reading every single post and having trouble closing the computer. (Those who know me are saying, “Really?! You… Reading?!” Yes, I was. And I liked it too. :)) It seemed like she was talking just to me, but I don’t even know her – you know that feeling?

Tracey’s just wrote a book – “Be The Mom.” It’s about life with your kids and avoiding “mom traps.” Since starting my journey as a stay-at-home mom, I’ve learned it’s not as easy as it was supposed to be (!) and Hayden is watching, learning, growing. We have an incredible opportunity to actually build meaningful relationships with our kids out of trust, laughter, and our time. Why not give it our all?!

Every morning when I get Tracey’s blog posts in my emails, I can’t wait to see what she’s written – because it hits home for me and it’s usually exactly what I need for the day. Here are two of my favorite recent posts and a piece of advice:

– “Boys love silly moms.” It’s true and has dramatically changed my relationship with Hayden.

Doing Laundry for Fun

Mom Gut Check 

 

I received the book for my birthday, from Tracey and autographed. (She doesn’t even know me!) Mom works at the same company as Tracey and told her my story. She wouldn’t let Mom buy it and insisted that she send it to me as a gift. So, this brings me to crafting – I’m sending her this thank you card:

 

 

I originally planned on a “You’re So Sweet” sentiment but after I found that it was nonexistent in my collection, I decided to use my not-so-clever pun in my blog title instead (you’re welcome). 😉 I love the Button Buddies set and usually find that it’s my “go-to” when I’m in a rut. I’m so excited with how this turned out – I think mainly because of all the bright colors.

I roughed up the edges with an X-acto knife. I used Early Espresso / White Baker’s Twine to create the hand-stitching around the edges. This takes a little bit of time, but I think it’s well worth the effort. Here’s the easy way: pierce holes in the edges of the paper using the Essential Piercing Pack. Then use a needle and thread or twine to stitch.

 

SUPPLIES USED

Paper: Lucky Limeade, Whisper White, Summer Smooches Designer Series Paper

Ink: Early Espresso, Soft Suede, Lucky Limeade

Stamp Sets: Button Buddies, Teeny Tiny Wishes

Punches: 1 3/8″ Circle

Accessories: Early Espresso / White Baker’s Twine, Essentials Paper Piercing Pack, Piercing Tool, Blender Pens, Glue Dots, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Comments

