Halloween Bottle Treat

One of my favorite things to make is event decor, but especially favors! Which is probably why I try to give a small treat to every guest at every one of my workshops. Today’s feature is the favor from my September Halloween-themed workshop.

These are empty beer bottles that I saved up for this very purpose. I soaked them all in soap and water, scraped the labels off, and let them dry completely before decorating them. Let’s start with my best tip for these: use Sticky Strip and Glue Dots! Because Stampin’ Up! card stock is so thick and bottles are round, I do not recommend using tape runner.

I decided to use a less traditional color scheme of purple and green with a hint of orange. (I chose to use green beer bottles to help with the color, but you could use clear and fill them with colored candy.) The zig zag border is Basic Black card stock cut from the Finishing Touches Edgelits; it’s combined with Rich Razzleberry Designer Series Patterned Paper.

Googly Ghouls – a great deal at 15% off for the entire bundle! – accents the front of the bottle. I used Lucky Limeade layered with Whisper White to showcase the cutest mummy you’ve ever seen. After I stamped the image, I used a Stampin’ Sponge and Basic Gray to lightly brush the top for a distressed look. The goggly eyes are included in the bundle and already have glue dots attached to the back. The bats are stamped, “fussy cut” (ha!), and adhered with glue dots. I embossed the “Booooo” banner on textured Pumpkin Pie card stock.

The top is covered in cellophane and tied with 1/8″ Basic Black Taffeta Ribbon – one of my favorite ribbons! I used marshmallows for the inside to be sure the candy didn’t interfere with the color of the bottle.

 

SUPPLIES USED

Paper: Basic Black, Lucky Limeade, Whisper White, Designer Series Patterned Paper (Rich Razzleberry)

Ink: Basic Black, Basic Gray, VersaMark

Stamp Set: Googly Ghouls (get the bundle and save 15%!)

Punches: Ticket Corner (retired)

Accessories: Big Shot Die Cutting Machine, Finishing Touches Edgelits, Googly Ghouls Bundle, Heat Tool, Black Embossing Powder, Stampin’ Sponge, 1/8″ Basic Black Taffeta Ribbon, Glue Dots, Stampin’ Dimensionals

 

Try applying this same concept to a wine bottle or mason jar for a seasonal home decor project or party centerpiece!

One thought on “Halloween Bottle Treat

Comments

